Intermunicipal Committees (Various)

Mandate

Intermunicipal Committees are intended to enhance communication with adjacent municipalities and discuss matters of mutual interest.

Committee Authority

Intermunicipal Committees are advisory committees to Council. Appointed members do not have the ability to bind the County at any intermunicipal committees.

Policy

Internal – Internmunicipal Terms of Reference #C-IMC (Last Review: October 16, 2018)

Reason for Rocky View County Involvement

Regional planning, servicing, provincial advocacy are some topics of mutual interest with neighbouring municipalities.

Compensation and Reimbursement

Appointed Councillors are reimbursed as per Rocky View County Policy C-195 Council Compensation and Expense Reimbursement.

Administration Support

Intergovernmental Affairs

Municipality and Appointments (Adjacent Area councillor as per the Terms of Reference)	Appointment Commitment
City of Airdrie Councillors for Divisions 6 and 7	Three – Four times a year, 1.5 hour meetings with 30 minutes for preparation + travel time.
Village of Beiseker Councillors for Divisions 5 and 6	Two times a year, 1.5 hour meetings with 30 minutes for preparation + travel time.
City of Calgary Reeve, Deputy Reeve, and Chair of the Policy and Priorities Committee, with additional Councillors invited to attend if their division is affected;	Three – Four times a year, 1.5 hour meetings with 30 minutes for preparation + travel time.
City of Chestermere Councillors for Divisions 4 and 5	Three – Four times a year, 1.5 hour meetings with 30 minutes for preparation + travel time.
Town of Cochrane Councillors for Divisions 1,2,8 and 9	Three – Four times a year, 1.5 hour meetings with 30 minutes for preparation + travel time.
Town of Irricana Councillors for Divisions 5 and 6	One – Two times a year, 1.5 hour meetings with 30 minutes for preparation + travel time.